The eyes have it

As I was cleaning out some of the reading in my backpack the other night, I came across this article from the New York Times entitled “Baby’s Gaze May Signal Autism, a Study Finds” by Belluck, it gave me reason to pause back to the time my son was first diagnosed with autism.

I know that many in the autism community believe that the earlier you have the diagnosis, the better the outcome because the sooner you can find support for them. For my son, his first diagnosis was epilepsy (at the age of 11 months) but in a way that was a blessing because he began to find support.

Today, for the first time (and at the age of 14), he went to a friends house. I think it’s that reason alone that I feel like it was a great day.

Have a Blessed day!

 

Autism Librarian

 

Leave a Reply

