The eyes have it

When I found this article from Autism Speaks in my inbox today, I thought great. Here’s some research perhaps getting us a little closer to helping those with autism. As I watched the video however, I remembered back to another article I recently posted.

In that article, The Kids Who Beat Autism there was a gentleman from the Autistic Self Advocacy Network who was quoted as saying “Autism isn’t an illness in need of a cure” and somehow this video got me to thinking about that statement.

I know my son wouldn’t be who he is if he wasn’t autistic and while I would love for him to be able to get through a day without the anxiety he feels or the behavior impediments that he has, I also know autism is part of his makeup.

Just food for thought. The article is entitled “Resilience from Autism: Study Shows Some Babies Undergo Course Correction” at Autism Speaks.

 

Autism Librarian

Leave a Reply

