Talking to friends

I was talking to someone who I’ve talked to before and who like me, has a son with special abilities. Now mind you, I was out with my daughter looking to pick up a Christmas gift for her other brother, so I was just there looking to buy the gift.

Little did I know I would receive a gift as well. We were talking about our kids when the topic of guardianship came up. Now while I’ve gone to workshops and have been doing some reading about them as of late, I was still unsure of what to do for my son. After our conversation however, I think I now have a much better idea.

We also talked about what are called Sheltered Workshops. These are an employment option for our kids, once they age-out of of their school. Like guardianship, between what I learned from our conversation and an article I just happen to come across on shelter workshops at work the next day,  I have a much better idea about what to do.

I’m one of those people that believes sometimes things happen for a reason. You just have to keep your eyes open when they do.

Sincerely-

  

Autism Librarian

Leave a Reply

