Good teachers are hard to keep

When I read this article, I read it with some understanding. Many moons ago, I was a substitute teacher in the St. Louis Special School District. Little did I know I would later have a son with autism.

The article I’m posting tonight is one I’m sure many teachers there and elsewhere, can relate too. Why I didn’t substitute long, I have at least an inkling of what she’s talking about. As a parent however, I also know what she’s talking about.

The article is entitled “It’s Not Easy Teaching Special Ed” by Lee Hale over at NPR. All I can say is god bless Ms. Taylor, my son’s SSD teacher. She’s a god send.

Sincerely-

  

Autism Librarian

Leave a Reply

