Letter from dad

I read this article at work earlier today, a letter that for any parent of a child who is autistic, I’m sure hit close to home.  It wasn’t a letter that necessarily stuck an emotional cord with me, perhaps because for me I’ve been on this path for a while now and I’ve made that same stop but, when I read the part where he talks about ‘Holland’, it took me back to  that place once again:

I’m sure that if Christopher were typical (that’s the word we use instead of “normal” in our world of ‘Holland’, for our developmentally delayed children), I would have not had this conversation with him either.

It was a well-written letter that perhaps begs of us to all do that little thing like sitting down next to someone who is by themselves or just say hi! The reality is, we’re all on our own path but for any of us to make it, we need help. As Mr. Cornelius said:

there’s no easy answer for this…at the end of the day it comes down to compassion, empathy and understanding.

I almost forgot, the article/letter is entitled “This Dad’s Heartbreaking Realization That His Son With Autism Has No Friends over at Pop Sugar and continues on at Facebook.

Sweet dreams!

  

Autism Librarian

Leave a Reply

