Tour guide

Reading this article took me back to when my son was first diagnosed with autism. In particular, I’m reminded the Holland metaphor. How it’s like your planning for this trip to say Paris or Berlin, reading all the books and getting all the maps but, when you get off the plane, the firs thing the guides say are “welcome to Holland“.

The article is entitled “6 Things I’ve Learned Since My Son’s Pediatrician Said the Word ‘Autism’” by Katie Campbell over at The Mighty and like she says at the end, “I sure do love my tour guide“. For me, tonight, it’s all good.

Sweet dreams!

   

Autism Librarian

Leave a Reply

