Autism & driving

Okay, this article on autism and driving doesn’t talk about my son’s issues, but it still begins for me a discussion on what is one of biggest issues regarding my son and that is transportation. As someone who doesn’t have a car myself and uses public transportation, I really hope one day he will be able to drive.

The article is entitled “If Your Autistic Teenager Is Afraid to Get Behind the Wheel” by over at The Mighty. What I’m hoping to do is to start him driving at our local go-kart track, a place called Pole Position. He loves NASCAR and even though he’s seventeen, he still thinks he will one day race cars. I’m just hoping it will get him started driving period. Here’s hoping.

Sincerely-

         

Autism Librarian

 

Leave a Reply

