Job coach

So last week I took my son over to a local mechanic’s business that is owned by a friend of my brothers and he got the chance to find out what mechanics do. He loves NASCAR and seems to know a lot of the makes and models of cars, so to me it seemed like a natural extension of that knowledge.

For two hours, he got to hang out with a couple of the mechanics, who I must say, were awesome! My son got to help replace the front brakes on one customer’s car and then helped with an inspection on another car, including changing the oil and checking tire pressure.

In a few weeks, we’ll do it again. Then he can help change tires and whatever else they will let him do. I think he really liked doing it. I’m very hopeful!

Sincerely-

   

Autism Librarian

Leave a Reply

